Thing 5: Digital Storytelling and Presentation Tools

I’ve been looking forward to exploring these tools and have been saving them like a secret stash of chocolate truffles.  I was happy to discover some familiar favorites on the list as well as a treasure trove of new resources. I decided to start the journey off with revisiting Voki because my previous encounter did not end well.  Earlier in the year I made a Voki for my school web page only to discover that I am unable to post it to the Google Sites page.  Grrrr!  I need to figure out a way around this!

http://www.voki.com/pickup.php?scid=8483359&height=267&width=200

via I just made a new Voki. See it here:.

I love Page’s witchy Voki on plagiarism… creative, fun and memorable.  Would love to run with that idea.

May 28th

I’m back!  Life has been full of surprises but I am determined to finish what I started.  I’ve continued to explore a variety of storytelling tools and I think that I could spend the next year just working on this set of tools.  Some highlights:

  • Storybird is easy to use and I can see the beautiful images being used as inspiration for an original poetry project for a variety of grade levels.
  • PhotoPeach is similar to Animoto.  The free version is easy to use and pretty intuitive. You can upload photos, select musical accompaniment from their library (small representation of musical genres and tempos) and add captions.  If you pay to upgrade to the educator’s version, you can have students sign up without an email address.  Because it is so simple to use, I would have no trouble using it with elementary students.  It would be a good tool for creating booktrailers.   In a matter of minutes, using photos from our annual reading celebration, I was able to create a quick slide show with music:

http://photopeach.com/album/12anry2

  • Glogster.edu is a terrific for creating interactive posters.  I’ve used it for several years with students 5th grade and up.  Our fifth grade students recently presented their space glogs to third grade classes.  They were able to showcase their research with text, videos, pictures, and hyperlinks.  In the past year Glogster  has updated and revamped their editing tool and that has helped with some of the quirks and glitches previously experienced.
  • I signed up to use Moovly.  I love the look of the videos you can create (common craft style).  I can see students replacing a “how to” speech with a “how to” Moovly.    Check out the one Sarah Jones created:  http://sjonescooltools.blogspot.com/2014/03/thing-5-digital-storytelling.html
  • Thanks to Polly’s endless list of useful resources, our students will have another source for CC pictures.  How did I miss PhotoPin ?  I’ve added it to the library web site!
  • I am inspired by the Unquiet Librarian once again!  Check out her students’ awesome application of presentation zen.  I can’t wait to share the philosophy with my students.  Last week, as I sat through a “death by Power Point”  presentation by a professor who should have known better, I vowed not to be a complicit in the creation of another mind-numbing piece.  Both Joyce Valenza and The Unquiet Librarian articulate the philosophy and provide student examples of successful antidotes.  The result?  Both the presenter and the audience are more engaged. Any presentation tool could be used including Power Point but  HAIKUDECK might be an elegant choice.  Oh Yeah!

More tools, ideas, and inspiration await to be discovered next time….

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

