Thing 29: Student Response Tools

Padlet + Wordle = AnswerGarden

After meandering down the AnswerGarden path, I discovered that this “minimal tool for maximum feedback” could be used as a brainstorming, exit ticket, or quick survey tool in the classroom and in presentations.  It is easy to use, requires no passwords, and provides immediate, visible results.  Because AG can be broadcast via IP/Geo location feature, a teacher could post a question that students would be able to quickly find and respond to on the network.   It is also possible to post a MicroGarden on your blog or web site which was designed for blind polls and does not show the participant’s answers.  I created this Sample AnswerGarden and was able to post directly to this WordPress blog from their site (see post above).  I plan on trying this out as an icebreaker activity with my 6th grade students next week. Favorite books, summer movie, ice cream flavor….

Today’s Meet is also a useful free tool for educators (with a bells-and-whistles upgrade available for $5.00 per month). Students don’t need to login and can jump in to a class discussion with the URL you provide.  I have used Edmodo with students and found that an online forum does help those who are reluctant to participate in class discussion.  Today’s meet would be a speedy alternative.  I would like to give it a test drive with students before deciding if it would be worth the small annual expense for the added features of printable transcripts, discussion pause, and improved access.

My primary goal today however was to embed a response form on my Battle of the Books page that allows patrons to submit book requests.  RCS uses Google Apps for Education and I created our library page using Google Sites so it made sense to create it in Google Forms.  It was a breeze to put together and gave me lots of options to customize the question format and form appearance.  Once the questions were added, I found a library-themed template to make it pop.   For the time being, I required Google log-in for submission which will limit the responses to our students.  With the simple click of a button I was able to generate a sheet to collect the responses.  I love the way the form looks….now I have to go back and fix the rest of the page!

Note:  I removed the Google log-in requirement because the widget is not visible to those folks not logged in to the school Google account.  They see an error message indicating that they don’t have permission to view the file.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Thing 29: Student Response Tools

  1. Google form looks great! And I’m going to share your answergarden poll on twitter. Hope you don’t mind? Let’s see if you get a whole bunch of answers (hope they’re “safe for work” answers!)

Leave a Reply

